Food is awesome

Yesterday and today I made awesome chicken. New favorite. Whole breast in olive oil, apple cider vinegar, balsamic vinegar, rosemary, a little garlic powder and salt and pepper. More zucchini and yellow squash and onion with it.

And then I made kale chips.

I’ll let that sink in. They’re pretty good, though. Ripped up kale, olive oil, salt. The recipe I found said to put parchment paper on the baking sheet and I was kicking myself for forgetting to pick that up, but then it turned out to be unnecessary. I used way too much salt (so John should love them) and some of the ones on the bottom rack burned past being food, and some on the top were still a little soft, but all in all, they’re good. Crunchy, but crumbly.  Someone mentioned kale-dusted popcorn, and that sounds really good and the natural progression of it.

I’m liking this cooking and eating thing, but I’m waiting for the other shoe to drop. It’s a lot of work, and it means little bits of grocery shopping every couple days. I spent a lot of money this morning, and granted, some of those were longer term things (coconut oil, sunbutter, two dozen eggs), but still. Upkeep can be expensive. So we’ll see how it goes.

In the meantime, I have my awesome chicken. Maybe I’ll marinate in all that for the day before next time.

Leave a Reply

