New things. Oog.

So, I’m trying this new diet thing. As in way of eating. It’s just a 30 day thing, a reset of sort. Oh boy. Any way I describe it it sounds silly. But. No starch, no dairy, no legumes, no sugar. Lots of eggs, meat, and vegetables. Some fruit. It’s going well, and not as hard as I thought it might be. The biggest thing is reading labels and being disappointed.

Like this evening, I was going to make little pieces of chicken cooked in a pan with olive oil, fish sauce, and (normally, I use rice)vinegar, and then zucchini and yellow squash and onions. For serious, this is actually really good. The fish sauce smells terrible, but tastes fantastic. Totally worth it. But it has sugar! Argh. Soy sauce is out, as soy is a bean. (This is another tough one, a lot of stuff has lecithin) So, I went with olive oil, apple cider vinegar, dried basil, rosemary, mustard powder and chili powder. I had enough chicken that I had to do two batches. After I put in the second, I tasted the first and realized I’d been really heavy handed with the chili powder. Oops. I added more vinegar to the second one and figured it would balance out.

After the chili incident I decided to just do the squash and onion in just salt and pepper, which was a really good idea. All in all, success. And possibly enough for lunch tomorrow.

The thing about this form of eating (which apparently is called paleo. I pretend to be a dinosaur whenever thinking about it) is that you don’t have to count. I tried weight watchers for like two days, and while it could be argued that I didn’t give it a fair shake, I really don’t think it would work for me. Too much thinking,  too much counting, too much effort to figure out the points in something you didn’t make yourself. With this, I know exactly what I can eat, and it’s easier to pick by ingredient that way than by figuring out the total of whatever I’m thinking about.

Also, the idea with this isn’t to lose weight, although that is an added benefit, but to just reset your system, lose your taste for all the empty starch (and oh! how I love my empty starches!) and sugars and all. I figure after this, I’ll add back in some cheese (surprisingly, the cheese I miss most at the moment is cottage) and whole wheat stuff. But we’ll see. What I’ve heard from a lot of people is that when they finish the 30 days, they go gleefully towards something they liked before and have the reaction of 1-Oh. This isn’t as good as I remembered. 2. I might as well eat it, since I’m allowed to again. 3. Oog. I feel lousy.

So, we’ll see how it goes. I’m only two days in. So far, no major challenges with it. The biggest thing so far was the fish sauce disappointment, and then today at work they had a barbeque, and the mustard I would normally pick had sugar in it. But they had two kinds! Problem solved.

Leave a Reply

