Most of yesterday was like this

So I decided it would be a good idea to go running yesterday. Clearly, that decision was not made yesterday. It was made the day before. John was going with me, after he got off work in the morning, like around 8. So when I woke up at 6, I figured I had another two hours to try to sleep on my neck the opposite way and correct whatever had happened the rest of the night (this is better in theory than in practice).

And then he left work early and pounced on me at 7. I whined about my lost hour while he made me toast with peanut butter and honey. Such was my state of disorientation and half-asleepness that I had my shoe almost tied before I realized that it was one of my work boots, and that I’d pulled out two different shoes. That about sums up how well the run went. It wasn’t bad, in fact my knees felt great. But the running just wasn’t really happening. After close to a mile of attempts, I gave up and started wandering the side trails and weaving back to the start point that way. There were chipmunks, so all in all it was a success.

Leave a Reply

