Oh the life

I really love/hate being a freelancer. I’ve tried regular jobs with real schedules and I don’t really last past 6 or 8 weeks. As appealing as having a  steady schedule is, I get really tired of and then irritated about having to be at the same place at the same time every day.

I just got off a two week run of having a ton of work, and for a couple days the horizon was totally bare. But then I picked up one thing, and then another, and my calendar is starting to color in a little (literally. I use google’s calendar and color code my events by pay scale). I still have nothing past next wednesday, but I’m not too worried. Things turn up. Sometimes they really don’t, and it’s a mind-numbing horror of a few weeks spent sitting around emailing people and scouring craigslist and dreaming about shitty desk jobs with steady paychecks. But for now, things seem good. And it’s nice having random free days and knowing that people will call and work will keep turning up and I don’t have to freak out yet.

Leave a Reply

