Jello shots!

It’s thanksgiving, which clearly means it’s time for jello shots. I made these lovely rainbow ones with maraschino cherries 

and John made espresso and kahlua ones. I tried one of mine, and it’s pretty good, but very vodka-y. So, perfect.

I’ve realized that in terms of my family thanksgiving is my favorite holiday. We make stuffing and cookies and some form of turkey and some other stuff, and then we make our stuffing and turkey sandwiches and pack it all up and go on a hike. Usually up to this waterfall on Mt Tamalpias in Marin County, but there have been several others. And I really like it. It’s a holiday with no obligations other than me making the cookies, I love stuffing and tangerines, it’s a really nice walk, the waterfall is pretty, and all in all it’s a really nice day. And it’s about going out and enjoying nature while we can. Granted, that’s California, and so fall lasts longer.

Thanksgiving here is totally different. John’s family is all about the giant turkey and sausage in the stuffing, and a huge meal and cooking all day inside. He has no interest in my kind of thanksgiving. Last year I did a poor mans version and made myself some turkey sandwiches and went to Prospect Park. But I don’t really feel like doing that this year, and it’s too cold to go upstate to real trees. So, I’ll do his family thing. Which isn’t bad, it’s just not what I would prefer. But they do have stuffed mushrooms. And this year, jello shots.

Leave a Reply

