All I want to do is go to Namibia

So I’ve signed up for the research expedition in Namibia, tracking cheetahs and leopards and caracals and all the bounding animals that they eat. I’m so excited. I’m excited to the point where even though I’m not going until the end of february, I’ve made a list of everything I need to pack, and am checking off the things I already have and trying to figure out if I can get away with just carry-on luggage. I need to find out what vaccinations I’ve already gotten and go get any that I don’t have. I need to work a lot and make money and buy a $1500 plane ticket. And also the rest of the money to pay for the trip. Which will be a lot.

I went on Amazon because this group that I’m going with, Biosphere Expeditions, gets points that they can use to get books and such when I order through their site. And then I ordered $540 worth of stuff. Eesh. But it was all (mostly) necessary! A fancy new lens for my camera, a telephoto that means I can actually get pictures of all these cheetahs and leopards. And a dongle for my laptop power cord because hp sucks in the realm of power cords. And a spare dongle for when I manage to break the new one. And two memory cards, because I will take barrels of pictures in Nambia, and not bring my laptop. And a photo album for all my Costa Rica pictures. And a backpack. And a sleeping bag. And a pack of rechargeable batteries with a charger. So, all useful stuff. But holy pants, it makes me nervous to spend that much at once.

In line with all that, I’m looking for a job as an assistant with a vet. I spent the first couple hours of being awake looking up yelp reviews of Brooklyn vets, and finding a bunch to email. Now I get to write a convincing letter about why they should hire me when I have almost no experience. Formal experience, that is. This should be fun.

Reading vet reviews is off-putting. They seem to be really varied. Unless everyone hates the place, you get a bunch of absolutely stellar reviews, and then a bunch of “these people killed my animal/way overcharged me/were really pushy/have shitty front desk staff” stuff. And I understand that people have different experiences, but it’s pretty weird when the experiences are that divided. I did find two that got all 5 star reviews, but they had 6 and 8 reviews, which is a fairly small opinion sample.

John is in Roatan, Honduras right now, diving every day except today because they had a hurricane. I wish I was with him, but at the same time I would have nothing to do. And he’s there for 15 days, so I would be bored out of my mind eventually. But I wish I had the option to go. That would have been nice.

On the other hand, in exactly 5 months, I’ll be on a plane to Namibia. This is going to be a long 5 months.

Leave a Reply

