Oh, some more

So in an attempt to be social and all that, I joined a book club. This is almost as dorky as it sounds. But it was fun! I joined one on saturday, waffled a little about going to the next meeting on monday, bought the book sunday, and read it all monday. And then went. The book (The Garden of Last Days, Andre Dubois III) wasn’t that good, we all pretty much agreed on that. But the discussion was really good. There were some pauses, but the main guy moved it along pretty well with questions. I talked a lot. This was a little surprising because lately I’m the kind to avoid the phone, and I don’t talk much at work. But at work, there are so many gregarious blabbering people, and I don’t have that much to add. I forgot that in academic situations (yes, I know, book club isn’t academic per se, but it’s close enough with the assigned reading and discussion) I’m an opinionated loudmouth. It was fun to do that again, and I think I had some good points. There weren’t too many differences of opinion, so no debates really, but lots of comments and insights and ideas. I’m excited about going again. And with my current wide open schedule am sort of irritated that it’s not every week. I think they do every 2 weeks. I hope.

I also interviewed for a part assistant drafting, part babysitting job that I’m kind of excited about. I have no idea if I’ll get it. I hope so, but it’s only 8 hours a week, so it’s not a huge deal. I should hear back from that tonight or tomorrow. Other than that, I have a few days coming up, and I keep applying to stuff. I think tonight I might send out a mass email to designers telling them that I am the most awesomest assistant ever and if they don’t hire me they’ll have nightmares about it for years. Or something to that extent. The mass email is a little crass, but doing every one individually is a pain in the ass. There are a lot. But it might be good. Feh.

I’ve rediscovered toasted peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.

Leave a Reply

