And stuff

Applying to more jobs! Waiting to here from a couple. Just applied to a third. Sheesh. I’m debating walking dogs, even. Except that I really don’t like dogs. But, you know, they pay. So I could learn to like them. We’ll see.

In the meantime, I’m doing nothing, trying not to spend money, hanging out with the cats, and sleeping. It’s a good life. At the moment, I have one cat draped over a shoulder and breathing in my ear, and another lying on my feet.

A weekish ago I saw both Sherlock Holmes and Avatar. Sherlock Holmes was great. I didn’t expect it to me. I thought it would be good, but all the previews made it look too much like an action movie. And it sort of was. But with everything else as well. It was pretty fantastic, and very well done, and the ending credits were beautiful, and they left it wide open for a sequel. So wide, it was a wonder that the opening date of that wasn’t announced. So that’s exciting. And Rachel MacAdams is pretty. I wouldn’t mind being her. Or her character. Anyway. Avatar was mostly good. I saw it in 3d, but that seemed kind of unnecessary. There were some good moments of it, but overall it didn’t seem to add that much. It was, of course, beautiful. And sad. I’m glad I saw it, but it wasn’t quite the mind-blowing experience everyone made it out to be.

And then I just read Her Frightful Symmetry, Audrey Niffenegger’s new book. loved Time Traveler’s Wife, so I’ve been looking forward to reading this. It was very different, which I liked. It was also not as good, but given how much I liked the other, this isn’t surprising. It was great in that it’s the only book that has ever creeped me out. I get scared by visual and aural things, scraping, and popping out of places. It’s hard to do that in books. Because you read the words, and it takes time, it’s very hard to sneak up on a reader. This didn’t really sneak up on me, but it did have some nice unexpected creepiness that was pretty effective.

I’ll do my books of 2009 soon. I had the list on my blackberry, but since I stopped using that, I lost track some, and then wrote a bunch down, and now have a pile that hasn’t been written down yet. So I need to organize all that. It was a pretty good year for reading though.

So. Here’s to me getting one of the jobs I’ve applied for. Here’s to getting it soon. Here’s to this year being better than the last.

Leave a Reply

