There’s a juggling festival thing this weekend and while I’m not that excited to go since I haven’t juggled in a while and probably really suck (although can still impress nonjugglers) it’s really wimpy to whine about how no one ever tells me about things and I get left out all the time, and then not go when two different people invited me. So I probably should go.

I spent most of the week with John, which was great. Though a lot of it was spent sleeping. I was supposed to start work wednesday, but then the IT guy who was supposed to brief me on the phone (yeah, I though it was a little silly, too) was sick, so it got pushed to thursday. So wednesday I go over to John’s, and we go to home creepo and buy wood and an aloe plant (which I’ve been wanting for a while, and my mom sent clippings to repot, but then Ian the asshole roommate crushed it and threw it away (without telling me either of these things) so getting a real one was pretty cool. It’s name is Herbert.) so we could build these planter box things for the seedling tomatoes and lettuce and such that he and his mom started growing. We had some good dinner, and then the drinking started. The IT guy was still out, so my start day had gotten pushed back to friday. So we drank. He has an incredible tolerance, and so drank about half a bottle of whiskey and about 4 shots of espresso vodka. I had probably 4 or 5 shots of each? I lost count, and they weren’t exact shots in the first place. Suffice to say, all the attempts to watch a movie failed due to our complete lack of attention span. We eventually passed out, and he threw up a few times. Not on me. So that was good.

Originally, my followup exam thing for the lump in my breast was thursday, so John blearily drive me home in the morning, planning to pass out in my bed, and then we would hang out the rest of the afternoon. But then I got a phone call saying that they had lost the grant that would have allowed my poor, uninsured self to be tested there. And directed me to a center in brooklyn. I called them, and they said wtf are you doing calling us, hold on, we’ll call columbia. So then columbia calls me saying hey, we’re not sure what’s up, but we’re going to call pp and figure out, and call you back. The nice thing about this was that everyone I talked to was very personal, I felt like all of them recognized that I was an individual with an issue, and they were happy to put in a bit of time helping me figure it out. But the fact that this is unresolved (and will continue to be, someone is going to get back to me on monday, hopefully with an appointment) and that I can’t go back on birth control until it is, is frustrating. Also, I am a bit of a hypochondriac, but it seems a bit bigger than it was a month ago. But it’s been a while since I felt it, and it could be me just freaking out, so I didn’t mention that to anyone.

So then we just lay around all day. He slept most of it, unable to move or eat. I sort of attempted to find more work, and took care of some stuff. It was nice.

And then work! On friday! Finally!  It was odd and uneventful. I got left alone a bit since the woman was trying to set me up while doing her own work. But eventually i got handed some stuff to do, and I did it for a while, and then I left. It was easy and mindless, and I’m pretty sure that even the more involved stuff will lbe pretty easy. I like data entry.  So that was good. Also good, that I have a job. I’m so broke at the moment that I had to borrow money from John to get a metro card since mine expired. No good. But now I have this, and I’m waiting on one other check, and I should be able to stay afloat.

Friday night I went back to John’s, and stayed till I had to go to a meeting about a potential design ‘job’ that doesn’t pay. But sounds interesting. And requires not much from me.

John continues to be in a dither about buying a place. He really loves the place in bridgeport, but it’s on the expensive end, and would cost him a minor fortune in travel. I just realized that it would cost him a quarter of my income. Which is depressing both in itself, and in how little I make. Anyway. And now he’s found a few places here, one of which would be dirt cheap, and one of which he rather likes, is a semi decent price, and is much closer. As in, queens. So he’s thinking right now that he’ll make a low offer on the bridgeport one, and if he gets it, great, if not, he’s got other options.

On a selfish note, if he bought the bridgeport place, I could move in with him since it’s a two bedroom and we’d have our space. But then I’d have to work in bridgeport, since that commute would be ridiculous to do every day. And that means no hanging out with friends here, no trapeze, even less theatre, etc. In Queens, he’d be closer, but it’s all one bedrooms and studios, which means I probably couldn’t move in at any point. Though I could easily visit and stay for a few days at a time. We’ll see. He still is wary of living together, which I completely understand. But given how we have been in long stretches together, I think we’d be fine. Also, last night when I came over he was a little tired, and was just going to read and go to bed, but since I was there felt a little obligated to entertain me. I countered by just reading in bed, and so we lay there next to each other, just reading, and it was nice. Companionable, we didn’t have to actively do anything. A bit of a taste of what it might be like.

Leave a Reply

