Year in review survey mabob

I was avoiding doing this because lately I’ve been all depressed about work and as such depressed about my whole year. But I just had 5 really good days of work, and there is more on the horizon, and so perhaps now looking back at 2008 will not be quite as defeating.

1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before?
Aquired my own cats. Got a passport and left the country. Hmm. I think that was it for the major stuff.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
1. Get into a living situation that I really like – Yes! For the most part. Ian drives me sort of nuts, but I love my apartment, and Madeline is great, and it’s fairly cheap and close to a train. All good.
2. Do the reading thing again – Yep. And better than before. Go me.
3. Be more organized about financial stuff, look into doing quarterly taxes- Fail. Big time.
4. Do aerobic type fitness stuff. Right now I’m strong, but not so good with the fast things- eh. A little. I didn’t put much effort in, but trapeze helped.
5. Be much more prudent money-wise- sort of? I didn’t buy anything ridiculous. But I did eat out too much.
6. Keep better contact with friends- Fail. Well. Not entirely. Facebook is helpful, but I’m still not that great.
7. Be less clumsy, injure myself less (as I look at my thumb that I sliced open with the edge of a gobo)- I bruise easily and frequently. But I think I was a little better about this.
8. Make at least half my income from design related work- ha. No. I don’t know if this is possible at this stage in my life. I just added it up, and sadly enough, I made just over 20% of my income from design related work. If I counted the stuff I did for the architect (it was drafting, after all) that number goes up. But it wasn’t theatre related. Bummer.
9. See as much theatre as possible- ‘as possible’ is a broad term. But I did see 22 shows (counting stuff I worked on) which is just under 2 a month on average, and is pretty darn good.
10. Not feel as guilty about things over which I have no control/am not responsible for- yeah, I am getting better at this. Though not great. Baby steps.

So for next year (or this year, rather) let’s say-
1. Strive to be happier with work.
2. Do the reading thing again, but just keep track. No firm number goal. 100 would be good, though.
3. Be more organized about financial stuff, for reals.
4. Not get guilted into taking on extra work beyond what I’m paid for
5. Be much more prudent money-wise.
6. Keep better contact with friends.
7. Cook more? This requires a big commitment somehow. Try to eat out less, at any rate.
8. Do more design and assisting work, goes with 1, I think it’ll make me happier
9. See as much theatre as possible
10. Plan ahead more

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Nope. Not that I know of..

4. Did anyone close to you die?
Not that I know of.. 

5. What countries did you visit?
Czech Republic! It was beautiful and I want to move there.

6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008?
More financial stability. More design work. More dance-related work. More friends. More cooking.

7. What dates from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
Goodness. I’m losing my memory for dates. The day I got my cats, in april. The week I spent showing John around the Bay Area. The week in Prague. August 29th, the day John definitively told me he loved me. Though I had an inkling.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Getting my passport.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Not pursuing design work as much as I could/should have.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Nope/

11. What was the best thing you bought?
The cats. My apartment? Didn’t really buy that, but there was financial commitment involved. My blackberry. I really love my phone.  

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?
Mine, once in a while.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?
Mine occasionally. Some people that I worked for.

14.Where did most of your money go?
Rent. Food. The cats, especially Snippets vet stuff lately.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Finding an apartment. Various job prospects. Prague. California. The cats.

16. What song will always remind you of 2008?
Is it really sad that the answer is none? I didn’t really attentatively listen to music this year. There might be something, but it’s from long enough ago that I don’t remember. And therefore won’t remember this year by. Sad.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
Happier or sadder?
The same? Last year I was pretty depressed about work and money. Seems to be true this year. Thinner or fatter? 
Fatter.
Richer or poorer?
I feel poorer, but I made more money this year. It’s hard to tell. Probably about the same.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Design. Seeing friends. Cooking. Being outdoors.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Watching tv. Nothing. I did too much nothing.

20. How did you spend Christmas?
Bouncing between home and John’s.

22. What was your favourite TV program?
Psych, Grey’s Anatomy, Pushing Daisies, Burn Notice.

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
I don’t think so. I got irritated at a few people, but no longstanding hate grudges this year.

24. What was the best book you read?.
Goodness. I have no idea. Paul Auster was probably my favorite new author. Catch-22 is amazing and was fantastic to rediscover. World War Z was disturbingly real. Fear and Loathing was a lot of fun. Out of Africa was beautiful. I read a lot of great books, and looking through the list to remind myself makes me want to rewrite most of it here.  

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Nope.

26. What did you want and get?
Several jobs. Cats. My apartment. Sushi yesterday.

27. What did you want and not get?
Several jobs. More pretty clothes. Books.

28. What was your favourite film of this year?
No idea. Wall-E. Dark Knight. Did I see any others? What a shame. There were a lot I wanted to see and missed.

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I turned 24. It was good. I did the usual dinner with my parents, and actually did it on my birthday this year. I like my traditional dinner, and I’m going to miss it greatly if I ever am not able to be in california around that time.

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Money. More design/assisting work. More books. More time with John. Hmm. That’s more than one thing. Money. Money would have helped a lot. Or work. Which leads to money.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?
Utile. I continued with wearing more dresses and skirts, which is good. Somehow I tore a hole in the left butt of ALL of my jeans. I have no idea. I have yet to fix any of them, unless you count gaff taping them so they’re just ratty and not revealing. I have no money to buy new pants. This is really sad.

32. What kept you sane?
John. Work. Both drove me insane as well.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Eh. None, really. Paul Rudd is my continual vague crush. When I remember to think of it. Geoffrey Tenant of Slings and Arrows, as well.

34. What political issue stirred you the most?
It was an election year, after all. Prop 8, as well, but I couldn’t vote on it, so I didn’t expend as much energy on it.

35. Who did you miss?
Various friends.

36. Who was the best new person you met?
Madeline. Rose, from Camp, though I met her before, I think. But I never really talked to her or hung out or anything.

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008.
Spare money is good.

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

From A Rainy Night in SoHo, by the Pogues
I took shelter from a shower
And I stepped into your arms
On a rainy night in Soho
The wind was whistling all it’s charms
I sang you all my sorrows
You told me all your joys
Whatever happened to that old song
To all those little girls and boys
Now the song is nearly over
We may never find out what it means
But there’s a light I hold before me
And you’re the measure of my dreams
The measure of my dreams

Leave a Reply

