I lived through Fashion Week again. It was tough. There was a 30 hour day involved. After which I went to a trapeze class. After working 30 hours. It was ridiculous. But I made bank and a half. So that’s good. I also got to work with a few different crews. I had my regular people at the armory for the Mark Jakobbs show (which I actually liked! I usually really dislike the high fashion junk, but this was all 30’s inspired and pretty, though I would have picked different colors/patterns. But still, it was good) and then I got to be at y3, Marta Stuart, and Kelvin Clein. They were all interesting, and I got to hang out with different people. Highlights- the MS strike, I got to be up on a roof next to the Hudson, on a really beautiful warm night, and then they started up a fireworks show in new jersey. I have no idea why, but it was really cool to watch while we were working. Then the ramp going to the street was really steep, and I got to just hang on behind the heavy heavy boxes and slide down, like waterskiing. It was pretty fun. Then at the CK strike, we had to wait for the carpenters, which meant I got there at 10am, took a 2 hour nap on some road cases, then went and saw a movie with the crew, got lunch, hung out for another hour, and then worked for about 2 and a half hours. 9 hours of pay, to sleep and go see a movie. It was fantastic. Other than those highlights, and the fact that I really like the people I work with, I hated it. It’s all the same work, so repetitive, so wasteful, so pointless seeming. My feet hurt so badly. By so badly, I mean that when I sat down it would take about an hour before they would start to stop hurting. I felt like I was walking on bruises. My knees were a little better. It’s all just pain, totally unproductive abuse on my joints. It used to be muscle building sore pain, which I welcomed because it meant I was getting stronger. But I’m as strong as I need to be for this work, and so now it’s just pressure. I was bored and irritated with it. I might keep working fashion just because it’s great money, and figuring out my paycheck kind of made it all worth it, but I think I need to get out of it soon. Anyway.

Trapeze was pretty great. It’s a lot of work, and a very long class, but fun. I signed up for work study to save money, which means I have to set up and take down all the mats and stuff, which sucks. But otherwise, I think this is a good thing. There are 7 people in the class, more than I expected. All girls, as usual. I liked them, and there’s a good little range of skill and strength level. I have form and strength things to work on. I think I’m definitely the most advanced in terms of tricks, but definitely not in form and all.

I got to spend the last few days with John, which was very nice. The more time I spend around him the more I like him, the more comfortable I am. We didn’t do all that much, cleaned his car, watched some stuff, went out to dinner for his sister’s birthday. Oh! Yes. Somehow I almost forgot. We got in a bit of an accident. It was raining, and coming around a turn on the highway, the back of the car slid out and he did all the right things to try to recover, but it seesawed mroe and more until we spun out and hit the divider and skidded some. And then restarted the car and drove off. The front end of his car is kind of fucked up, scraped and a little out of place, but we were fine, and it still runs and all. It was a touch scary, but I could see it coming from the beginning, and had plenty of time to prepare. It was even a little fun. I’m very glad that we didn’t cause any other accidents, that would have sucked. Other than that, uneventful and companionable. I love being with him.

And now I’m very tired. I have more electrician work next week, which sucks. But it pays. Woooo.

Leave a Reply

