Cat torture!

I spent my morning torturing Snippet. Lately, there have been a bunch of scabs around her neck. They’re pretty unnerving, but not serious, and she doesn’t seem to mind them. I figured it was from playing too rough, although Pidgeon usually just tries to hold her down and wash her when they wrestle. Then this morning, somewhere in the tussle, Snip lost about a quarter sized patch of fur from the back of her neck, and it was all raw underneath. No good. I don’t understand it at all. All the other wounds are gone, or just about gone, so that’s good, but then this happens. I don’t get it, since Pidgeon really isn’t the aggressive one. You would think that she would be the one with all sorts of scratches from Snippet. Anyway. I used the occasion as an excuse to give Snip a bath. It was a short one, I held her in the tub and splashed water on her for a while, and cleaned the spot. She put up with it very well, though it was clear she really didn’t like it. The amazing part came when she let me blowdry her. The really amazing part was that after all that, and after having neosporin put on it, and me putting a little gauze neckercheif on her to keep her from scratching the spot, she still likes me. She keeps climbing on my lap to take a nap, and following me around. What a sweet cat. I always regret the language barrier, and not being able to explain to them what’s going on, or why I have to do this, and it’ll only be uncomfortable for a minute, or whatever else. But that doesn’t seem to be a problem withe her, she never resents me for things like this, and the vet, that I have to do for her to be healthy or safe. I think she gets it. So now she’s passed out on my knee, with her white bandage making her look like an invalid. She isn’t even trying very hard to take it off.

Leave a Reply

