Sunday

So. Macbeth was pretty great. They used projections, which I’m always very sceptical of as I’ve seen too mny shows just get excited about haing another toy to play with, but generally theirs were good, worked well to support the play and didn’t distract. I did have a few issues with some of the acting. The porter? What the hell? The Thane of Ross was also a little weird, but at least there it was a clear and consistent character choice. Lady Mac was not my favorite. She had some moments, but other parts were just heavy handed and annoying. Patrick Stewart was amazing and natural and great. And other words of admiration and commendation. The witches- I loved that they were constantly there, as the nurses or cooks or servants. That was a fantastic choice. I hated the ‘double double toil and trouble’ bit. They did it in a way that reminded me of the witch in Into The Woods, in the prologue, to the point where that was nearly what I was hearing. Also, the Banquo dinner vision freakout thing was pretty great, and how the built it around intermission. Banquo’s death needed some serious restaging, but the idea and the setting and everything directly afterwards was brilliant. Go see it.

Dinner afterwards was pretty amazing. Who knew that blood sausage was that good? also, the pate. Also, the potatoes next to my salmon. Also, the salmon. Also, I don’t normally like brie, but in this case.. We were some of the last people there. The creme brulee was fantastic, though it usually is. I didn’t finish it and the next morning seriously regretted not taking the rest home.

I’m going to be pretty busy the next couple weeks, working 3 jobs. And the strike for the show I designed. I’m doing yet another design for the medical students, and then working with Peter at Purchase and then at Symphony Space. I’m excited about those. And finding a grid for the theatre I’m involved with. But that’s not quite urgent yet. It might be, actually, but I’m pretending it’s not.

ANd I’m getting some form of feline this week. Kittens would be good, they’re cuter and more active and interesting. BUt a grownup cat is actually getting saved. Though people toss out kittens once they’ve grown, so it’s good to get thema nd save them from that. I don’t know. I do have a variety of names picked out. Potato, Bucket, Henry, Potassium, Puddy, Fitzroy, Spitten Pitten. John wants to change Bucket to Mr. Buckets. He may have a point. We’ll see. In any case. Cats. Or kittens. Or just one. Wednesday.

I spent yesterday wandering around looking for random things for my cousin and Naya. My cousin, I missed her birthday way back in the beginning of march, and I’m seeing her tonight at seder, so I figure I should give her minor presents then. Naya’s birthday is thursday, party on tuesday, and it’s her golden birthday, so I’ve been finding her stuff related to that. And then I went to Strand. And left, 15 books later. Jeez. On the one hand, I’m trying to build up my library. On the other, I need to not spend this much on books, at least not so often. Oh well. The list-

Prague- Arthur Phillips

The Brooklyn Follies- Paul Auster

Post Office- Charles Bukowski

Vinegar Hill- A. Manette Ansay

Gentlemen of the Road- Michael Chabon

The Ladies of Grace Adieu- Susanna Clarke (for Naya, she saw my copy, and was all excited because she had wanted to find that edition, hardback with that cover. So now she can have it)

Good as Gold- Joseph Heller

Travels in the Scriptorium- Paul Auster

A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court- Mark Twain

Water Street- Patricia Reilley Giff

Master and Commander- Patrick O’Brian

Skin- Roald Dahl

The Saturdays, The Four-Story Mistake, Then There Were Five- all by Elizabeth Enright

Slowly but surely the library grows. When I go to my parents this summer, I’m going to take an extra bag and bring back a bunch of my childhood books. And my trunk, that my dad was supposed to ship to me. I don’t even know if it can be carried. And I kidnapped a few of my mothers books, and not wanting her to look in and find that out, I took the keys with me, and now I have no idea where they are. Oops.

Leave a Reply

