Nineteenth

I just saw The Other Boleyn Girl. What a dissapointment. The acting was fine, the costumes were pretty. But they condensed the story so much, enough so that most of the things happening didn’t seem to have much cause at all. They just happened. Or they mentioned the cause, but almost in passing. Even another hour of movie would have allowed it to be much more fille dout and explained. Oh well. I kind of wish I had seen it before I read it, but I think my opinion wouldn’t be that different.

I dropped off all my tax information with the accountant today. What a nice guy. He’s pretty busy this week (surprise) but took time to talk to me about everything, and suggest doing quarterly taxes if I think I’ll be making more 1099 money this coming year, etc. He’s going to call me later this week when he’s done them. His office was in the empire state building, which was a little intimidating. In the words of Riley, “what? No one actually works there. You just look at it, and then go to the top”. It’s a bit of a maze to get to the security gate to go up the elevators. It’s one of thos ebuilding where each set of elevators goes to a different set of floors, which was exciting. Fast, too, it only took about 10-15 seconds to get to the 40th floor. That was my main adventure of the day. Work was just work, I’m dimensioning a drawing right now. Which is boring. And takes a while. I spend a lot of time staring at it trying to figure out the best way to place these things so enough information is there, without it being too cluttered. This means I get to spend some time just staring at it and wasting time.

John called me about 10 minutes into the movie. I didn’t answer. I probably should have. But i didn’t know at that point how disjointed and annoying it was going to be, and didn’t want to miss anything yet. Oh well. Seriously, though. It was kind of ridiculous. They skip over most of his becoming the head of the Church of England. And out of the blue he’s all upset because Anne won’t put out and he’s ripped apart the country for her. But you only see one half meeting about it. Barely. And no one seems that upset. Feh.

Time to make applesauce.

 

Leave a Reply

