Ninth

What a long entertaining day. A day of much money spent somewhat accidentally. But generally worth it. I went to get my free haircut. I really like the girl who did it. And she did a really good job. Though we’ll see in a couple days what it really looks like. She started off wanting to give me bangs, the big heavy sideswept ones, but eventually realized that they would turn out really uncooperative, even with stenuous flatironing. So she satisfied herself with straightening the rest of my hair. This took an hour, which was a little ridiculous, but it looks freakin fantastic. The hair itself looks absolutely gorgeous, and after a day of surreptitiously looking at myself in windows, I think it looks pretty good on me. It feels really nice too. Very different, though, my hair is pretty wavy, and not prone to being told what to do. It was a free haircut, but I liked her and it was a good one, so I tipped her pretty well. More than I normally would, but probably less that she’ll be getting once she officially works there. Balances out I figure.

I lent my old useless computer to a theatre company for them to run a slideshow on for a show, but that was about 3 months ago, and they’ve made it pretty clear that they want it gone now, and I had some time to kill, so I went and picked that up. It’s a good enough laptop, it just has almost nothing on it now, and needs everything (including an internet driver) reinstalled, and I don’t really have the patience for such things. Also, I’m kind of holding a grudge towards it, for dying when it did, and for chewing up the harddrive as it went. Though I guess both of those are the hard drives fault and not the computer body’s. I make no such fine distinctions. So the downside was now having to haul a 7 lb computer around for the rest of the day. The upside was not having to get phone calls from them any more, and getting lunch.

I went to check out the light board that wasn’t working, it turned out the blackout button was pressed. But I had fun playing with stuff and fidling around, and somehow in there agreed to be part of the volunteer tech team there. It’s good, though, because it won’t all be on me, and hopefully someday, there will be money involved. And it’s a good space, of the sort that I think should be supported, and I have the time to give, so there you go. I also unloaded my computer on to her, so that worked out well for me.

Tenaya and I had planned to meet up and do something or other, so after a very lengthy conversation with me standing in the cold and her sitting in her nice warm apartment, I headed up to lincoln center to go peruse books before she met up with me to see a movie. I bought a lot of books. 11, to be precise. Never again. I was reminded of why I only buy books used. Although then the author doesn’t get their percentage, and I’m all for supporting authors, but jeeze. I guess I did pretty well, with only about 12 bucks a book. I just know that I could have gotten all of those for under $30 used. Enough bitterness. And now- the book list. With explanations, because I always feel it necessary to explain myself. Even if no one else particularly cares.

Half Magic, and Magic By the Lake, both by Edward Eager. These were ones that I suggested to the girl on the subway last week, and I have always wanted to own them. My mother does, but there’s no way she’s giving them to me now, and since she’s (hopefully) not dying any time soon, I figured I should buy my own. Logic.

The Mouse and the Motorcycle, by Beverly Cleary. While I was perusing the childrens books (and being horrified by the amount of utter trash that ‘teen readers’ are supposed to buy) I remembered how much I liked this book. I actually remembered it not too long ago in a conversation with John. I might read it to him. It has a mouse who has to make motorcycle sounds to make the motorcycle go. It’s pretty awesome.

The Diving Bell and the Butterfly, by Jean-Dominique Bauby. I have no idea what this is about. I saw the preview for the movie, and thought it looked really pretty, and so I grabbed the book on my way out.

Moon Palace and The New York Trilogy, both by Paul Auster. I just read Moon Palace, and really liked it, but it belongs to one of the people who moved out, and so it will leave someday. I figured I should have my own copy. Turns out he’s written quite a bit. I picked the Trilogy partially because it’s about New York (yes, I know. What a sucker) and because I had heard it mentioned, and because it’s 3 books in one.

Gone Bamboo and Bone in the Throat, both by Anthony Bourdain. I like his cooking show, I had no idea he wrote fiction. I picked up Gone Bamboo, and started to readthe introduction, and after the following, I would have a hard time not buying it- “I wanted a hero and heroine as lazy, mercenary, lustful and free of redeeming qualities as I sometimes see myself. … I can tell you that the people who get paid to read these things out in Hollywood were appalled by my loathsome couple. Studio coverage uniformly suggested – in the stongest of terms – that my hero’s should “learn from their experiences” and “grow as people”. I felt they’d missed the point.” Really, how could I not? And I got the second because it takes place in New York (I know, I know!) and the main character is a chef. I like reading about food.

The Other Boleyn Girl, by Philippa Gregory. Unfortunately the only copies available have the movie cover. Oh well. I kind of want to see the movie, but I definitely want to read it first. People I know have, and the general opinion is favorable.

In Cold Blood, by Truman Capote. I should have gotten this at the used bookstore in Berkeley two years ago. I didn’t, and had to pay for that now. But now I get to read it.

Man Walks Into a Room, Nicole Krauss. She wrote The History of Love, which is one of the most beautiful books I’ve read. That might be a bit of hyperbole, but I did enjoy it greatly. Now I get to read her again without rereading.

There you go. Books and explanations. Tenaya showed up and saved me from spending more, and we went to see Definitely Maybe. It was very cute. Slightly better and more interesting than I expected, but mostly just fun and pretty good. The other option had been There Will Be Blood, and while that would have been very good, I’m glad we went with the light and fluffy. It mostly takes place in ’92, and centers some on the (first) Clinton campaign, which I remember pretty well. I was only 8. Comparing my remembered perception and the movie was interesting. They mostly matched up. It’s the first movie I’ve seen where I was able to do that sort of comparison, and I kind of like that I’m getting old enough to have that sort of memory.

When I went down to the subway, I sat down in the first empty bench seat. This was possibly a mistake, but only because I’m fairly awkward at carrying on conversations with strangers. It turned out that I sat next to my look-a-like. Older, yes, different features, but the same complexion, nearly the same hair color, we both had straight hair in almost the same cut and length, and we parted it in the same place. Also, grey coats and grey and white socks. Ridiculous. She was very talkative, and kept going about her work and my work and various neighborhoods, and redheads in general. She did a good job of keeping up a steady stream until I got to my stop. The good thing being that I didn’t have to contribute too much.

Anyway. That’s my long and useless recitation of my day. I really like my hair. I don’t think I have either the patience or the skill to recreate it, but i might give it a whirl. It’s amazingly untangled. And smooth. These are thigns that merrit excitement in my world. I need more work.

Leave a Reply

